Movie Review: Legion

Plot:

The movie begins with the archangel Michael falling down from heaven, his wings cut off because he disobeyed God’s orders. God has lost faith in humankind so he sends down His legions of angels to kill all of mankind; Michael disobeyed because he believed that there is still some hope left in man to change his ways.

After a terrifying biblical apocalypse descends upon the world, a group of strangers stranded in a remote truck stop diner in the Southwest unwittingly become humanity’s last line of defense when they discover the diner’s young waitress is pregnant with the messiah.

When the other angels failed to kill the baby, Gabriel was sent to do the job. Gabriel and Michael fight, and Gabriel wins, stabbing Michael through the chest with his mace. Gabriel went after the fleeing mother and child and was about to kill them when Michael reappeared, back in his full angelic glory. His refusal to give up on mankind, including sacrificing his own life, has convinced God to change His mind and give humanity another chance. At this point, a surprised Gabriel is wounded when Michael runs him through with a blade.

The film begins and ends with the same monologue by Charlie: telling how her mother’s view of God changed while Charlie was a child, from a loving and merciful God to a stern and unforgiving one. When the young Charlie asked why He had changed, her mother said, “I don’t know. Maybe He was just tired of all the bullshit.”

Review:

I must say that this is probably the only movie so far that I am reviewing that I did not really have the excitement of doing the summary. I know all the reviews said that movie was bad but I didn’t know it was this bad. It was so stereotype in all aspect, and at the beginning even blasphemous in my opinion.

I don’t really know where I first heard the idea or this story that one of the reasons that Lucifer rebelled against God was because God loved man above the angels. And here the makers of the film played with this idea as well as the story of Lot in the Old Testament. And it would have been great if the film didn’t leave more questions than it gave – first, why was the mother chosen to give birth to the “messiah”?; and what was the child’s special purpose?

And one was the biggest question for me was – why the heck did Paul Bettany took this project?! I mean, I love the man and I admire him wholeheartedly, I followed his movies from A Knight’s Tale to Wimbledon to Da Vinci Code  and Inkheart…and he’s such a great actor and he’s played so many beautiful roles…I can’t understand what was going through his mind when he accepted this role. I guess he was either depressed at the time or just plain out of his damn mind!

I rated Ninja Assasin quite low and unexciting but this was even lower than that!

3 Responses to “Movie Review: Legion”

  1. Yeah Jo and Chucky said the movie was quite bad too, so we haven’t bothered to watch it.

  2. wow, so it IS as bad as it looks. thanks for the heads up

  3. What’s up, yes this piece of writing is truly fastidious and I have learned lot of things from it about blogging. thanks.

Leave a Reply

