Looking back…..

As always I was the last to go to sleep last night…I have turned off the TV and was getting ready to go to bed when I happen to glance towards the twin beds at the other side of the room. My two young sons slept peacefully, and I looked at them a deep sense of longing stole over me…what would I give to be able to carry them in arms again; to be able to rock them to sleep while I sing lullabys for them.

Hubby for his part often comments on how just a few years ago he could still lift both of them on either arm and how he used to enjoy carrying them on his shoulders, those days were gone but they’re some of the sweetest, happiest memories we have of the boys.

I guess, I only now understand why parents are always being accused by their children as treating them like kids, because in our hearts, in the deepest recesses of our hearts we will always look at them as our babies. That feeling of protectiveness, of concern and of needing to take care of them will never go away I guess. Yes, as a responsible parent I must learn to let go to, to let them spread their wings and try things on their own no matter how hard it is for us to see them go.

Someday they’ll fall in love and there will be times when they might get hurt, and I know that all I can do is let them know that I will always be there for them no matter what. There will also be times when they may hurt someone, and I will have to be the one strong enough to tell them they’re wrong and to set them straight.

They’re growing up so fast, sometimes I feel like I’m not yet ready to let them go. In my heart of hearts they’ll always be my babies, even if they want to recognize that or not.

3 Responses to “Looking back…..”

  1. Great blog,

    Every time I hear a song from the 80’s and 90’s, (which is a lot), I flashback to my childhood.

  2. It never changes, even when they’re 28 and 30, they are still your babies and you want all the good things for them. You have such precious boys, Jen.

Leave a Reply

