My personal thoughts…

It’s almost time for school to begin once again, and like all parents I’m scrambling all over to get the funds needed for what the kids will need to get them well settled in school.

Now speaking of school, I don’t know if anyone else have noticed this, although certain some of the older generations and those my age will remember a time when GMRC was actively being taught in the schools. For those who don’t know what that is it’s – Good Manners and Right Conduct.

I once asked my son’s adviser about it and she told me that those leassons were integrated with the other subjects such a English, Values Education and PE. Well, sadly I don’t think it’s being taught enough.

Lessons like, don’t speak when you are not spoken to, how to show respect to your elders and how to show respect for authority aren’t being drilled into the children’s head anymore. In the old days, when your teachers walks along the corridor or you happen to meet her anywhere you were taught to show her respect by simply acknowledging her with a simple “Good morning Ma’am or Sir”. Well, I see students passing the halls of my son’s school and I haven’t seen anyone so much as give the a respectful morning.

And now, kids are required to memorize the Panatang Makabayan, and Lupang Hinirang..why? We never used to have to memorize them because like it or not you will memorize them because it’s being said every single day inside the class room. What the hells is happening?

In our search to update everything we seemed to have forgotten that there are things that shouldn’t be taken for granted. We are making very intellectual but hollow individuals…ask yourself are these the kind of Filipino citizen you really want to see in the future/

6 Responses to “My personal thoughts…”

  1. My parents would usually say that young ones nowadays are becoming disrespectful. So I always end up listening to their sermons about the proper conduct. I agree with you (and to my parents). The last time I had a GMRC subject was my third grade. That subject should still be part of the curriculum.

    • otakujade Says:

      I believe so too, I hate to sound like one of the old people who keep on reliving the fast but then again there are still things that shouldn’t be changed – like how you should give respect to your elders and your parents. Thank you for commenting Euryx-san, it’s good to know I’m not the only one thinking about these things and that someone’s actually reading my personal thoughts.

  2. It’s bad already when they’re not learning such things such as respect for elders, love for country, etc. It becomes worse when they become like that and not learn anything substantive in school (which is what is happening in our public schools).

    To be fair enough, character formation should really start with the family. But with our current state, parents are left with no choice but to leave it to the schools.

    If this trend continues, I don’t know where I’m going to send my child to school (but that’s IF I would have one)…

    • otakujade Says:

      I agree with your points…character formation should start at home, but it should be re-enforced in school ( which is not happening nowadays). Also, I do believe that teachers form a much more credible authority to the students especially in the elementary level. True, it should not be the case but it’s time we face reality.

      Have you ever observed kids, good kids, once they start school they tend to listen to their teacher more…especially in pre-school and elementary. You get home from work and you have some pasalubong like chocolate and you tell your kids “I’ve got something for you” and when they see the chocolates they would say..“teacher said chocolate is bad for you”.

      See my point???!!

  3. gatchzilla Says:

    Yup, I see your point…that’s because they spend more of their waking hours at school, and the parents come home late from work…

    For the record, I was not one of those good kids…I was a pain in the ass for most of my elementary school teachers…

Leave a Reply

